CCS Workshop

CCS Exam Preparation Workshop:

The Certified Coding Specialist (CCS®) is a competency-based (knowledge and experience) credential that validates the skills and knowledge of coding professionals and demonstrates mastery of CCS responsibilities supporting business growth and quality healthcare.

Workshop Objectives: 
Based on ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS, this face-to-face workshop has been designed to provide trained and experienced coders with a review of the CCS exam domains and assist them in strengthening and reinforcing competencies needed to prepare for the exam.  This workshop will serve as a valuable supplement to a candidate’s overall test preparation plan.  Each domain item in the workshop contains information specific to that content area as well as practice test questions.
All participants will receive workshop handouts and a copy of the Certified Coding Specialist (CCS®) Exam Preparation, 6th Edition published by AHIMA.
AHIMA members receive a discount on the workshop. AHIMA non-members will receive a free one year membership to AHIMA. 
Workshop Objectives:  
  • Coders trained and experienced in ICD-10-CM/PCS and CPT/HCPCS Level II will: Benefit from a structured review of and exercises on the examination domains
  • Become aware of needed areas for focus in test preparation
  • Benefit from a review of application of coding guidelines
  • Benefit from a review of CPT/HCPCS Level II codes
  • Have increased confidence in their level of readiness for the CCS certification exam
Who Should Take the Exam:
Professionals experienced in coding medical data from patient records, generally in a hospital setting. These coding practitioners:
  • Review patients’ records and assign alphanumeric codes for each diagnosis and procedure
  • Possess experience in the ICD-10-CM/PCS and CPT/HCPCS Level II coding systems
  • Are knowledgeable about medical terminology, disease processes, and pharmacology
CCS Exam Eligibility:
  • Current RHIA®, RHIT®, or CCS-P® credential holder OR
  • Completion of a coding training program that includes anatomy and physiology, pathophysiology, pharmacology, medical terminology, reimbursement methodology, intermediate/advanced ICD diagnostic/procedural and CPT coding; OR
  • Minimum of two (2) years of related coding experience directly applying codes; OR
  • Current CCA® credential holder and one (1) year of coding experience directly applying codes; OR
  • Current holder of a coding credential from another certifying organization and one (1) year coding experience directly applying codes. Completion of AHIMA's ICD-10-PCS Coding Basics Training for procedural coding is recommended to improve your chances of passing the exam

Exam Format and Content Outline:
Number of Questions on exam:
  • 97 multiple-choice questions (79 scored/18 pretest)
  • 8 medical scenarios (6 scored/2 pretest)

Exam Time: 4 hours – no breaks
Domain 1 – Health Information Documentation (8-10%)
Domain 2 – Diagnosis & Procedure Coding (64-68%)
Domain 3 – Regulatory Guidelines and Reporting Requirements for Acute Care (Inpatient) Service (6-8%)
Domain 4 - Regulatory Guidelines and Reporting Requirements for Outpatient Services (6-8%)
Domain 5 - Data Quality and Management (2-4%)
Domain 6 - Information and Communication Technologies (1-3%)
Domain 7 - Privacy, Confidentiality, Legal, and Ethical Issues (2-4%)
Domain 8 - Compliance (2-4%)