Certification in Medical Quality

The American Board of Medical Quality offers national and international candidates a certification examination to test basic knowledge in medical quality management, including principles of clinical quality improvement.

Successful candidates are granted the CMQ (Certificate in Medical Quality) designation, based on their credentials and exam performance.
Click here to download brochure
If you are interested in sitting for the ABMQ examination, then please note the following: 
Exam Eligibility
One of the following pathways must be met. The board exam applications require description and/or documentation of expertise and experience in quality improvement work.

Have an MD, DO, DMD, with an active unrestricted license to practice and expertise/experience in using the principles of quality to improve clinical practice.

Healthcare Doctorate
Have a PharmD, DNP, JD in Health Law, DDS, or other doctorate in a health-related field, with expertise/experience in using the principles of quality improvement.


Have an MPH, MPA, MSc, MBA, MSN or other masters' degree, with expertise/experience in using the principles of quality improvement.

ACMQ Quality Scholar
Medical students, residents or fellows who have been awarded the status of Quality Scholar by the American College of Medical Quality.

If you do not fit one of the criteria above, you may submit a written statement, to be reviewed by the Exam Committee; showing proof of:
  1. Training or participation in healthcare quality improvement educational activities, or
  2. Expertise in quality management, measurement, assessment and improvement, or
  3. Full membership and participation in the American College of Medical Quality.
Applicants will be contacted once a determination has been made.
Steps on how to apply and register
  • STEP 1: Send an email to ABMQ abmq@abmq.org to express interest in taking the exam and to get notified once the online portal for registration is available
  • STEP 2: Fill out the online application form and upload the necessary documents needed to get approval to take the exam
  • STEP 3: Wait for the confirmation letter from ABMQ
  • STEP 4: Once you receive the confirmation letter from ABMQ, proceed with the registration and payment via MENA Conference website www.menaconference.com
  • STEP 5: A notification for confirmed payment will be sent to you along with the details of the examination
All candidates for certification must complete the online application before the published deadline of registration, 8th October, 2020. All applications will be reviewed and approved by the ABMQ Applications Review Committee, whose members are appointed by the chair of the ABMQ Board of Directors.

If you meet the essential eligibility criteria for candidates you will be notified that your application has been approved and you can proceed with payment and registration.

Date / Time:
November 21, 2020

Al Ain University Abu Dhabi Branch, Computer-based Testing Center, Abu Dhabi, UAE

Exam Duration & Format:
Candidates are given 2 hours to complete the computer-based exam, which is a proctored, multiple choice examination of 100 questions.

Designation of successful candidates:
Certified in Medical Quality (CMQ)

Exam Rules:
  1. Candidates must report to the exam site as instructed on your letter of acceptance.  Candidates arriving late may be admitted at the discretion of the chief proctor.
  2. No pager, cell phones, alarms, or similar devices may be operative during the exam.  Candidates will be reminded to turn such devices off prior to the exam.  Any person using such devices may be dismissed from the exam room and disqualified from the examination. Tablets, e-readers and other handheld computers are also prohibited.
  3. No books, reference materials, or study aids of any sort are allowed in the exam room unless stored in the back of the room as directed by the chief proctor.
Exam Scoring:
  1. Examination questions, answers, and grading guidelines are developed and approved by the ABMQ Board of Directors.
  2. There is no penalty for incorrect answers.
  3. No credit is given for items for which more than one response is selected.
  4. For the 2020 examination the passing score will be decided based on psychometric principles.
Successful candidates will be awarded the CMQ designation. The ABMQ Board of Directors reserves the right to change the grading system for future examinations in 2021 and beyond.

Reporting of Results:

Candidates will receive the results 4 weeks post examination.
Individual test scores will be released only to the candidate.

Certification Expiration:
The initial CMQ certification expires after 5 years.
Subsequent certifications, i.e., recertification, expire after 10 years.
Suggested Study Materials:
Study materials in the basic tenets of medical quality management and clinical quality improvement as suggested by the American College of Medical Quality are:
  • The ACMQ textbook Medical Quality Management: Theory and Practice, 2009;
  • The Health Care Quality Book: Vision, Strategy and Tools. Third Edition. Nash D et al, 2014;
  • Introduction to Health Care Quality: Theory, Methods, and Tools. Dlugacz Y, 2016;
  • Other resources that may be announced later.
  1. The Certification in Medical Quality (CMQ) recognizes that recipients have mastered a level of knowledge and a fundamental understanding of the basic tenets of medical quality as identified by the American Board of Medical Quality (ABMQ).
  2. The ABMQ has reviewed and approved the eligibility criteria of all candidates for the CMQ. Candidates have verified by signature that the credentials listed in the CMQ examination application are correct. ABMQ is not responsible for any misrepresentation of candidates' credentials.
  3. The study materials listed on this website may be suggested or developed by the American College of  Medical Quality (ACMQ), which has no further influence over or access to the content of the ABMQ examination.